Jan 30.01

Today I performed my random act of activism: I poked my head into the brand-new scary Starbucks that just opened near my work and said, "Hey everybody! There's a great independently-owned coffee shop just down the street and they'd love to see you! Support your local businesses!" Or something to that effect. Man I hate Starbucks. I hate pretty much all corporate merchants, but Starbucks gets my personal hate more than most. When they moved in next to my friends' coffee house and basically tried (unsuccessfully) to shut it down, that made it personal. I wasn't done feeling angry about it, so I went to the Starbucks website and wrote an angry email, and then I went to www.ihatestarbucks.com and vented my anger some more. I feel pretty good now! Nothing like loading a bunch of vitriol on a well-deserving party, I say.

Went out to lunch with A.M. today, that was really nice. I like her--she's a little off-kilter and totally sweet. She has obsessive-compulsive disorder, so I've been told. It gives her the urge to count things. Sometimes when we are talking, I wonder if she is counting, and if so, what she is counting. I have to admit, I'm probably more fascinated than I should be...

Okay, that's it. I'm working up to dropping a bomb, but it will have to wait.

square - hip