Jan.31.01

I should be over this by now at my age, but I'm still excited about my birthday. Tomorrow marks the first day of the month in which I was born, and that makes me happy. It pleases me to no end that I was born in the same month as Valentine's Day occurs, even if it's just a Hallmark holiday. I don't care. It's a day to celebrate love, and it always gives me a real charge to see all of the hearts and candy and all of that crap right near my birthday. I also feel kind of special, because February is the shortest month, so it stands to reason that fewer people are born in February, thereby making my birthday somehow more rare. I'm a dork, I know...

In other dorky news, today I happened across a sweet little piece about Jason Schwartzman in "Spin" magazine. Ew, I hate "Spin," but it was just sitting there in the kitchen at work, so I opened it. I'm a sucker for magazines. They're just like TV--I know they're for short attention spans and they're just junk food for the brain...but I can't stop. I submit. It's okay. At least I know what I'm doing when I absorb some pop culture once in awhile. So anyway, Jason Schwartzman played Max Fischer in "Rushmore," my second-place all-time favorite movie. "Harold and Maude" takes first place. Max in "Rushmore" and Harold in "Harold and Maude" are kind of similar in some ways...they are both sweet, geeky boys who love older women and have strange hobbies. Beautiful.

I'm feeling like I'm getting a cold. Again. Grr.

square - hip