Feb.11.01

First of all, it is Elliott Smith, with two L's and two T's. Why do people get that wrong so often? And why do I care?

Went out shopping with And. and L. It's so good to see that they've finally introduced a measure of reality to their lives...it seemed like they were in this total dream-world where money falls out of the sky and where having a baby, a gallery, and a brand-new condo could all happen within a month or two. I mean, we want a house and a kid, just not tomorrow. I think now they realize that these things take a little bit of time.

Last night was an interesting time. Went to this weird show where C. was going to DJ, but then everything was just fucked up. Luckily, there were plenty of people to talk to. I did hear something that really disturbed and disappointed me: P. and K. (according to M.L.) are both doing heroin. I couldn't believe that K. would do that, but then the more I thought about her behavior shortly after she started dating P., it kind of made sense. She used to tell me how he was so sick with all of these things that sounded so serious, and then she started getting sick too! Not to mention the fact that she was selling a lot of stuff, like her drum kit. When I realized all of this coincided, I felt like a fool. I felt duped. It's better that they are not here anymore, because I would have a really hard time looking either of them in the eye now that I know. That is just fucked up.

I also ran into Todd (from the mosaic sweatshop) at that party/show thing. It was really good to see him. He's so easy to talk to. I met his new wife too. She's from Paris. She seems nice, but I didn't get a real impression. It's funny--she is not nearly as pretty as the two other ex-girlfriends I know. I always figured Todd as kind of into looks.

Anyway, I guess all's pretty well otherwise. I'm nervous about the coming week. I hope it all works out okay. I hope I don't end up in a situation that really just sucks...

Huh. I realized today that I left my butter at the record label, just like S.G. joked about. Heh.

square - hip