Feb.22.01

Okay, I have a bit of time, so I'm going to talk about snow.

Only little, little kids like snow when it's lying around on the ground. They like to play in it and stuff, and that is really cool, I think. At least *someone* can enjoy it, instead of just wishing it gone, like adults do. I used to love to play in the snow when I was very young, and I don't even remember feeling cold at all. I used to spend hours out there, sledding and building snow forts and snow men. Once, my friends and I built a big Miss Piggy face in the snow with water and food coloring. That was cool.

But I think the real magic happens when the snow is still flying around in the air. It's beautiful, and kind of...sad and romantic (melancholy?). One of my favorite things to do is to go out at night when it is snowing and just stand there, watching it fall. It's cold and quiet and soft. The traffic sounds become muffled and distant, and you feel like you're the only person in the world.

I met my first boyfriend the day before I turned 15. His name was David. I remember I saw him on the bus on the way home from school, and he told me that he liked me. It was snowing that day, snowing really hard, and I got off that bus and walked the eight blocks to my house. As the snow fell softly around me, I never felt warmer.

I remember the first time C. and I were outside in the snow and it was late. We were talking and walking toward the house, when I just stopped and said, "Wait. Stop. Just listen." C. and I just stood there and listened, and I knew he knew what I meant. He heard and saw and felt it too.

Magic.

square - hip