I promise I'll stop talking about Elliott Smith after this. Promise. In fact, maybe you should skip reading this one altogether, since all I'm gonna do is gush and whine...

Here's the gushy part:

Okay, I like Elliott Smith. He's the ONLY musician I've ever written fan mail to. That is an embarassing admission. His voice is nice, and his lyrics are sometimes happy, sometimes sad, sometimes angry, and sometimes they make no sense at all. I like that. I like that he is awkward. I like that he's very, very unattractive (to me). I like his name. I like that he covers cool bands like Big Star and the Kinks. Sure, he's not THE most original musician I've ever heard, but when I want singable, when I want catchy, when I just want a damn good pop song, Elliott Smith is my man.

And here's the whiny part:

I don't like that he was radio-popular for awhile, so that all those damned Fiona Apple fans started liking him, therefore making it impossible for me to get into his shows anymore. I don't like most of "XO" anymore. I don't like that people constantly misspell his name (two t's in Elliott!).

Enough! I embarass myself.

square - hip