Apr.01.01

Everything's been really good lately.

The pot luck dinner we hosted on Friday was a lot of work, but very fun. The shrimp dish I made was a success, and the carrot cake I made for S.'s birthday was a hit. I did have a little trouble with the frosting, though. I started cursing at the cake, and C. had to come in and save the day. He has a deep, deep well of patience that I do not have, simple as that. He sat there and carefully fixed the cake, and applied the slivered almonds and lemon zest until it was so perfect people were asking what store we bought it from. Yay for us! I love cooking.

S.'s birthday dinner was nice too...a home-cooked Indian FEAST, courtesy of S.'s mom. We all ate too much and sprawled out on the chairs, couches, and floor afterward.

This whole weekend has been full of too much eating and not enough sleep. Damn daylight savings time doesn't help. I think it's weird that Indiana is the only state that doesn't do daylight savings time. What the hell is up with that? A.M. says they even have daylight savings time in Holland. I didn't know that other countries did it too. So what makes Indiana think it's so special?? Huh?

By the way, I think I might have a job now. I went on an interview on Friday morning, and the nice lady offered me a job on the spot. I told her that I would like to think about it over the weekend, and I haven't done that much.

The pros of taking this job would be:

-It's not an office job (it's an art-paper warehouse).

-I can wear my own clothes.

-I can listen to my own music.

-Discounts on art paper and supplies!!!

-There is opportunity for raises and advancement.

-The people who work there seem really cool.

The cons of taking this job would be:

-The pay is okay, but not great.

-It's kind of a slacker-type job where I won't really be learning any new skills like I would in an office setting.

-Okay, I can't help but care a little about what some people will think if I take the slacker job and not the dull, all-grown-up office job that my temp agency keeps dangling in front of me. Plus, there's that little voice (that sounds exactly like my mom) in my head that says, "You're 27 years old now, shouldn't you grow up, for god's sake?!"

Ew, I just looked at that last part, and it sounds terrible! I know I shouldn't care about what other people think and I should do what I want, because if I'm happy that's all that really matters. So, that said, I think I already know my choice.

When my parents got divorced, I was 21/22 years old. I was pretty shocked, because they seemed so darn happy my whole life. I was a total wreck. It makes me sad just to think about that time. But at least one good thing happened during that ordeal: I saw a counciler (did I spell that right?). His name was Ross. Looking back, it seemed like I spent a lot of our time together just crying. But I do remember that many times I would say I had a problem (like my dilemma above), and then I would basically start working it out right there and then, all by myself. Ross would say, "See? You know the answer. You don't need me, you know what to do already," and it's true. Sometimes when I'm having trouble with something, all I have to do is imagine that I'm talking to Ross again, working it all out.

C. just showed me how to put in a hyperlink! Whoo-hoo! Here's one just for the hell of it: A classic--The Onion.

Oh, and thanks also to witchking for the HTML tips. I'm a true computer geek now and I love it!!!
square - hip