Apr.01.01

I just finished watching a video tape of Bill Hicks, a politically-minded stand-up comedian from the late '80s/early '90s. He's dead now, sadly, but I'll bet if you look really hard next time you're in a really good video store, you will find a tape or two hidden away. Trust me, even though his stuff is a bit out-of-date, it is awesome. And I'm pretty picky about stand-up comedy.

There was one part where he was talking about christianity and rock & roll that was particulary great. He said something like, 'Just for the sake of argument, let's say that it's a fact that rock is the music of the Devil. So if that's true, and all those great bands are the Devil's music, and bands like the New Kids on the Block (I said it was outdated) are God's music, then I'd rather be surfing on the lake of fire! Yee-haw! I want MY rock stars drugged-up and dying in a pool of their own vomit 'cause at least those guys played from their hearts!'

I had to just write this out for the benefit of myself, and anyone else out there who feels the same way. When C. and I finally do have kids, I want them to know what good music is all about. It's not about shilling for Pepsi (ahem, Britney Spears) and selling a ka-jillion records to people who don't know any better or have no taste (ahem, N Synch, Faith Hill, Fiona Apple, Ricky Martin, et al). It's about having a fuckin' heart.

Right?

square - hip