Apr.14.01

Here are some of the greatest musical parterships ever:

- Kim Deal and Frank Black.

- John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

- Tobin Sprout and Robert Pollard.

and,

- Alex Chilton and Chris Bell.

- Otis Redding and Carla Thomas.

- Lou Barlow and Jason Lowenstein.

That's all I can think of right now. I find myself thinking a lot about the first three on the list. Those first three are extra-special, because I have heard each of them do their solo stuff, and it's just...not...quite...right. At least, not nearly as completely right as the music they made with their respective partners. The first three on the list represent moments in musical history where an absolutely PERFECT balance was struck. I believe the reason they are no longer together is that when something is so, so, so perfect, it is too volatile to last for long. Nature just can't handle it.

But then, that's just a theory I've been working on.

square - hip