Apr.16.01

A lot of stuff happened and didn't happen in the past two days.

Easter happened, but we didn't happen to celebrate it, unless you count the fact that we ordered a pizza for dinner. Does it help if I say it was vegetarian?

Joey Ramone happened, and then he happened no more. He died of the same kind of cancer I had when I was sixteen. I survived, Joey didn't. Funny in a non-ha-ha way, huh. It's sad to think that the last thing Joey Ramone heard before he breathed his last was the band U2. I wonder how he felt about that, if he felt anything about it at all...

Snow happened today, and damn cold weather too. I feel cheated out of the Spring I so desparately need, and it made me much more deeply down-in-the-dumps than I probably should have been. I had a bad day at work today, and I couldn't tell you really the defining "bad" moment exactly. All I know is that at one point I was feeling pretty good for a Monday, and then I was realizing how much everything sucked. My boss went home sick today, and I think that contributed to the suckiness, since I had to do some of her work too.

I hate, hate, hate to admit when I've made a bad decision, but I'm really starting to think I need to look into a new job. I know, I know, I did nothing but complain for months when I was jobless, but this time I plan to try to keep my current job until I get a new job, thereby avoiding that old familiar useless limbo feeling. But, at any rate, I'm sad to say I think this job is just too much for me. I emailed my boss today, telling her that if some things don't change, I'm going to have to say goodbye. I just can't justify working to the point of total exhaustion for such little pay and such massive stress. The fancy paper simply does not have to be shipped out by the end of the day, no matter what. I just can't find it in my heart to believe that someone is going to die if they don't get their 10 packs of Brockway White 8 1/2 x 11 with the deckle edge. Sorry.

Oh well. Maybe all's not lost. That annoying optimistic side of me just won't let up.

square - hip