May.16.01

There is a visible humid haze over the city. I don't think I've been dry all day. All the paper I handled today got all curly. I sweated waaayy too much for a day in mid-May, especially considering that two days ago I was freezing. Man, midwestern weather is just...fucked.

I didn't know if I would make it through my work day today because sometime right after lunch I got this faint/dizzy/tired feeling, coupled with cramps I could feel all the way to my toes. I slogged my way through, took two non-aspirins, and actually felt better an hour later. I was very surprised.

Remember the Mystery of the Phantom Vomiter? Well, I'm sad to report that it's no longer a mystery. Boy, do I sure wish it still was. I talked to J. (who used to live upstairs), and she told me that one of the girls on the second floor is bulimic. Hm. Apparently, everyone in the whole building knows, and not one person has done anything about it, not even her roommates. I mean, it's not my job to take action (is it??)--I'm not the type to meddle, anyway--but I feel like it's crazy to just stand by while this poor girl tries to kill herself. What to do? If my relationship with my neighbors was better, I guess I'd talk to them about her, but they pretty much want nothing to do with us. Hm.

It's like living in an episode of "Melrose Place" or something...

square - hip