May.30.01

We're going out to dinner tonight to a fancy, dimly-lit restaurant that has an open flaming pit! It's going to rock!

Speaking of things that rock, I never gave my review of "Goodfellas." But then again, do I really need to tell you that it was great? Don't you already know? Well, at the risk of redundancy, here it is: "Goodfellas" is an excellent film. I don't even like Ray Liotta or Joe Pesci but that movie is so good I didn't even notice. It had all of the great cliche gangster stuff in it, plus some nice paranoid drug abuse stuff! It made me want to be a ganster too, but only in the safe, Hollywood way.

I've been reading a zine called "The East Village Inky" lately. It is really, really, really good. It's written by a lady who lives in Brooklyn, NY, and has two kids. She tells super-witty stories about her kids and life in NYC. Her drawings are great. The only thing I didn't like is that she admitted to patronizing Starbucks. Anyway, her zine is compact but chock-full and costs $2.00, but it's worth it. I'm a cheapskate, so you know if I say it's worth it, it really is. You can find this little gem and many others at this website: http://www.quimbys.com/ Click on "Catalog" and then "Zines."

Off to the firepit,

Ms.Squ.P.

square - hip