Jun.12.01

Why is it that when I'm feeling all witty and full of good stuff to write, I don't have the time?

I'm sitting here listening to Love (the band, duh) kind of louder than I'd like, so as to drown out the Karate (the band, duh) my upstairs neighbor is blasting, so as to drown out the musical noodling C. is doing in the other room. How terrible. It's no wonder that cities are so damn noisy--everyone is sitting right on top of each other, blasting their own noise just to drown out the noise made by the others around them. Yuck.

I can't take too much time to write this, because I have an unbelievable amount of stuff to do tonight to get ready for our trip to K.C. on Thursday. We're going to be gone for the weekend. I'm excited to be going back to the ol' hometown. It's been too long.

My Mom and I talked the other day. She gave me yet another gem of ridiculousness that I can use to entertain you, my lovely readers. She told me that she doesn't believe in global warming. She believes it's all "gloom and doom" the scientists are making up, since the Bible doesn't say anything about it. She also thinks that since C. and I "live in the 'big city,' (we) should get a gun and learn how to use it. You know, for protection. Lot of crazy people out there!" Yeah, like my MOM for instance. I swear, my Mom used to be a liberal. Really. I swear. She used to believe in evolution and the right to abortion. Now she's pro-life and a creationist. I don't know what happened, but I have this constant urge to take her husband B. aside and ask, "Okay, what did you do with my Mom? And who is this lady that looks like her? 'Cause this is definitely not my Mother."

Well, that's all the time I have for today. Hopefully I'll have some fun stories when I get back from K.C.

xo!

square - hip