Jun.24.01

Shellac. The Ex. Fugazi. I saw all three of them last night. It was an amazing show.

Shellac were okay, but they had two strikes against them--they played first, and their sound was terrible. I did enjoy them quite a bit, even though it seemed like I was one of the only ones who did.

The Ex stole the fucking show. Hands down. They are really captivating live. They have a female drummer (BIG points in my book), and all the guys playing guitar and bass moved around the stage like they were puppets on strings. One guy kicked over a chair, and then his amp. Pure, sweet, wonderful, listenable punk rock. Mmmm!

Fugazi. Oh Fugazi. They're a classic for sure. This was my first time seeing them (yeah, I know) and they were exactly how I always imagined they'd be. They rocked! They spewed politics! Guy whipped around the stage knocking over (and frequently breaking) amps and mic stands! And they played "Waiting Room". Sure it's cheesy to want a band to play their big hit at a live show 20 years after it came out, but it's "Waiting Room" for god's sake! My Mom likes "Waiting Room"! It is a great song.

The show was a jam.

Helz yeah.

square - hip