Jul.01.01

After three days of freedom, I really, really, really don't want to go back to work. Buttt, I only have 7 days of work left, I guess that's not too bad.

I'm thinking about going into nannying again. I don't know. Once again, stuck in the "What next" category.

We went to breakfast at HUE this morning. This guy who works there saw me get into that accident the other day. He asked if I needed a witness and said he was glad no one was hurt. What a sweet fella.

Our phone is back on now. We didn't get a cell phone. We might still get one though. C. says it's just in case of an emergency. I think of it as one more thing to carry around. But who knows? It could come in handy sometime...

I am highly disturbed by the yuppie-ness that is seeping into our lives. Cell phone??? Palm Pilot??? Expensive coffee??? At least we don't drive an SUV and live in a condo and buy our coffee at Starbucks. It's weird to have more money than I did when I was a punk rock kid on my own in KC. Since we got married, life has been pretty comfortable. Used to be I had to struggle for everything, but now it's easy, and it's kind of unnerving. Am I still a punk rocker? I still like the music, but do my actions reflect a life of conscious thought? I think so, but it's a strange place to be. C. has been asking the same questions--he is the only one in his office who wears polyester and doesn't shave or cut his hair regularly. Sometimes he feels pressure to clean up his act. Should he do it? I don't think so.

I don't want to be "normal"! I don't want to become average! I want people to think I'm weird!

square - hip