Jul.13.01

YEEEOW!! Check out the swanky new layout! No longer will I have to bear the stigma of a pre-made Diaryland template. A billion ka-jillion thanks to Sundaygirl. She rocks.

Quite a lot has been happening in the world of your gal Squarepants. Most importantly, I am officially unemployed. Yay! Last night a bunch of us went to the Hidden Cove and did the karaoke. I actually got up my courage (okay, it was in liquid form, but still) to sing twice. The first song was with a big group, so it was easy. I don't even remember the song now. The second time, I did "Kiss" by Prince. I love that song and I know the words without looking, it was great. I thought it was really hilarious when R. said I was brave to go up there and do it. I didn't mention that it took three trips to finally get up there to the "stage".

Today was my annual Female-Parts Doctor appointment. This time I've got a doctor I can keep, instead of the McDoctors I went to when I didn't have insurance. This lady is going to be my OB-GYN. I like her. She made me feel at ease and the appointment was quick but not rushed. I told her that I'm considering pregnancy in the next year/year-and-a-half. She said I have nothing to worry about for now, but when it gets closer to the time we'll have to come in for a (ooh) pre-natal consultation. In the meantime, she put me on pre-natal vitamins, just in case we have an "oops." I just took one of the vitamins about an hour ago, and then realized that they are full of iron. Uh-oh. I've been known to vomit like crazy when I get too much iron. So now I'm sitting here with noting but this vitamin in my (otherwise empty) stomach, waiting to see what will happen next. Kind of like when I was younger and I had just taken some acid or mushrooms or something--there's a funny taste in my mouth and my stomach feels a little strange, but it's more nerves than any effect of the drugs.

Here's hoping it stays down. I don't want to ruin my Friday night with a vomit session. In my opinion, throwing up is the worst. Which makes me wonder--how am I going to make it through pregnancy when the time comes, if I can't stand nausea and vomiting??

And the most exciting thing about all this is...I am finally on the road to this huge thing, this child that we'll someday have. I'm happy. I'm also not in a rush.

square - hip