Aug.08.01

Wow, guess what I did all day today! That's right! I drove around! And around and around!

This job is kind of crazy, but so far I love it. Even when F. has me turning left onto a street, and left again, and left again, until all we've accomplished is going in a big circle. Today we goofed around in the park outside of the train station for awhile. On the clock. It was H-O-T outside today. And it didn't matter, because I was having fun. We listened to a bunch of my old, old tapes like "Fables of the Reconstruction of the Fables" by R.E.M., the 6ths "Wasps' Nests", and "The Queen is Dead" by The Smiths. We talked about what we were doing and how old we were when we first heard this stuff, and how as angsty teenagers we took The Smiths so seriously. The Smiths are pretty much just frickin' hilarious now.

It's so hot today that I think everyone has reached the point where all normal behavior is abandoned. You can take more breaks when it's hot. You can change your routine and no one says anything--they just assume that the heat has finally gotten to you.

I just want to cuddle with my husband again. It's too hot for that now.

Man, how is it that I know no one with a pool? It's just not fair, I tell ya.

square - hip