Aug.09.01

Ah, a day for to do nothing. Glorious!

I have the day off today and it's just too damn hot to do much of anything.

I went record shopping. I've been a bad girl. I spent $50 and actually considered hiding it from C. But I'm making money again, so I'll just say it's a little celebratory splurge. After all, it's only $50.

I got: "Bonnie and Clyde" by Serge Gainsbourg, "Chronicles" by Rush, the new Built to Spill, and "Blank-wave Arcade" by The Faint. It's about time I bought some new stuff, since I've been heavily rotating the same few albums lately. C. never says anything, but I can tell it bugs him that I have such a tendency for repetition. I can't help it! I have not been able to get enough of Wilco's "Summer Teeth" for ages. I think I might have bought that CD a year ago, and I probably play it at least once a week. Still. Same with "End Time" by Freakwater, "Lifestyle" by Silkworm, and "Hurrah" by Versus. What I think is really funny about this is that all of these albums stand alone in my collection. I don't have any other albums by these bands, and normally once I like a band, I'll go out and buy everything they ever touched. Exhibit A: Jon Spencer. Exhibit B: Lou Barlow. Exhibit C: Elliott Smith. Maybe now that I'm older I have begun to realize that blind completism is just silly and a waste of money and storage space.

I'm constantly annoyed by the lack of selection at my local Reckless Records store. I have tried for months and months to get anything by Le Tigre from them, and they consistently do not have it. Likewise with Gang of Four and David Bowie. And what about Zounds? I have about a snowball's chance in hell of getting that one.

I like to support my local businesses as much as possible, but this is a case for ordering online.

But not now! I've got to make some more money first!

square - hip