Sep.05.01

Lemme just say that Barrington, Illinois is kind of a crazy town. It's got some kind of crazy people, and some city-hating, SUV-driving yups, and lots of new roads that needed mappin'. I spent the day with the new guy. He is apparently a workaholic, because we busted A-S-S today. Sadly, I was in anything but an ass-busting mood today. I was (and still am) nursing a serious case of the monthly bill.

Remember how I missed my official date for the monthly? And it freaked me way the hell out? Well, it's three weeks late, but it's finally here. And in spite of the fact that I can feel the cramps all the way down to my thighs, I'm very happy that my body is back "in the red." Heh. That means I'm as fertile as a bunny in the Spring. I'm normal! This is surely a sign that things are getting better.

But I digress!

For those of you who don't know the distance between Barrington, Illinois, and Chicago, Illinois, let's just say it's a looong train ride. It's an even longer drive. Getting out there in the early morning was okay. I took the train from my 'hood to the Harlem stop, and then we drove from there. That whole trip took less than an hour. But this evening, just getting back to the train station took TWO FREAKIN' HOURS. Then I had the half-hour train ride and the fifteen-minute walk home as well. That's nearly a three-hour commute. Not cool.

To say that I was pissed by the time I got home would be putting it mildly. I pitched the biggest, baddest babyfit. I knew full well that it was a low-blood-sugar-tired-and-crampy fit, but I couldn't help it. I just wanted to be a wah-wah baby for a minute. C. really puts up this stuff amazingly well. He even had a bouquet of flowers ready on the kitchen table to cheer me up. The man is amazing. We both felt better once I had some dinner.

And now I'm going to go take a nice, hot bath and forget about today.

One more day in Barrington (tomorrow), and this whole week will soon be a distant memory! Ah!

Oh yeah...And happy birthday, Dad.

square - hip