Sep.06.01

Just when I thought I was out of the suburbs, they've pulled me back in. I finished mapping Barrington today, and tomorrow I will ride with F. out into another godforsaken, subdivision-ridden wasteland! Yay!

In other news, I am feeling much, much, much better. My cranky days are slowly falling behind me.

So there's this bartender who has the same customer every day at the same hour. The customer is a doctor, and he comes into the bar every day at 5PM for a hazelnut daquiri, come hell or high water. The bartender knows this routine so well that he makes the daquiri just before 5:00 so it's ready when the doctor comes in. One evening just before five, the bartender goes to make the hazelnut daquiri and finds that he has run out of hazelnut flavoring. Panicked, he takes some hickory nuts from the nut bowl on the bar and throws them into the blender instead. The doctor walks in at the usual time and sits down. The bartender hands him the daquiri and watches the doctor's face as he takes a sip. The doctor drinks a little and says to the bartender, "This isn't a hazelnut daquiri," and the bartender says, "No, I'm sorry, it's a hickory daquiri, Doc."

Hah!

square - hip