Sep.20.01

Please pardon my last entry. I realize that having any kind of fit at a time like this is just bad taste, but I was really getting fed up. Three weeks is a long time to be uncomfortable with one's eyewear, I think.

And, well, I got my new glasses today. Finally. The doctor apologized for the delay. He was cool.

I think I like my new glasses. I can't say for sure yet because they're so new. It's hard to change something so crucial about your face and not be a little ambivalent about it. When I tried them on, my first thought was, "I want my old clunky ones back. Wire frames are worn by a different kind of woman, aren't they? A woman who has more class, more patience, and is calmer and is less geeky!" But for better or worse, I paid a lot for them so they're mine. I'm learning to like them. They are less conspicuous, which is nice. They don't take up so much of my face, which is also nice. So it's a new era for your pal Squarepants.

I've got a new attitude...? Just like Patty LaBelle...? Um, yeah.

So anyway.

I feel like the biggest jerk lately because I can't seem to find the energy to answer my email. I got tons of messages from friends and family during the past week, and I just can't find it in my brain to put enough words together to write them back. I mean, sure, it's easy to write in here, but to write some kind of happy, chipper "Isn't everything fine and great" message is just not coming. I don't know. I really feel guilty. So many people cared enough to write to me, what's my problem?

I know I'll get to it eventually. It's just... It will have to wait just a tiny bit longer.

I checked out some books from the library yesterday. One of them is Cruddy by Lynda Barry. So far, it rocks. You know Lynda Barry, don't you? She does this comic. She supposedly lives in Evanston, Illinois. Someday I hope to "run into" her there. And no, I'm not stalking her!

I'm gonna go read now. I've only got 'til October 10th to read three books.

square - hip