Oct.11.01

A whole bunch of miscellaneous stuff:

We went to this silly/fancy restaurant called Wildfire for C.'s birthday. The menu there was mostly beef, but I did find a lovely swordfish that satisfied me quite nicely. And the chocolate cake was amazing. Drawback: We came home smelling like we'd been sitting in front of a campfire all evening. Not the most alluring scent when you're nowhere near a campground...

Last night was the second night in a row I've had to trundle myself off to the guest room to sleep because of the ridiculous amount of noise in our bedroom. Between C.'s snoring and the upstairs neighbors' nightly partying, there's just no rest to be had. I'm afraid to admit how much I'm starting to enjoy sleeping in my old bed in the very tiny but quiet guest room.

I spent the workday driving M. around. We slacked off a lot, but it was fun. She decided that she wanted a cat, and she wanted it today. We tried a pet store in Evanston, but all they had were long-haired fancy Persian kittens that cost $250.00. We were looking for a sweet scrappy stray, not some she-she fancy cat! We checked around some other places, but nothing worked out. I think we might try the pound if we can find one on our route tomorrow.

While driving with M. today, we passed the Metro. There was a huge tour bus parked in front and there were guys loading equipment into the club. M. wondered aloud who was playing, so I checked the marquee. Phantom Planet!!! Don't recognize the name? What if I say...Jason Schwartzman? Sound familiar yet? Okay, okay! It's the guy who played Max Fisher in the greatgreatgreat movie "Rushmore"!!! Yes! Yes! That's him! Auggghh! Okay. Calming down now (Oh, man, I am 27 years old. Why do I so often act like I'm still 17?). Anyway, we both freaked out in the most embarassing teeny-bopper way (see above), because we are dorks. And to add to our complete stupidity, we even (oh god so embarassed) parked the car nearby and walked past to see if we could get a glimpse of Mr. Rushmore. We did not see him, and so we left. Please don't tell anyone I told you this. If you do, I will not be your best friend.

Heh. And that's all.

"So...do you like...stuff?"

-Ralph Wiggum

square - hip