Oct.25.01

I am sensitive to bad things today. Bad smells, bad comments, bad manners.

Probably this is because I am yearning and desperate for at least one, yes one, yes ONE night of decent sleep!!!!

I talk about this all of the time because it is a constant problem these days. Same story: Upstairs neighbors with heavy feet who stay up all night. And C.'s explosive snoring. And if it's not one, it's the other. Or if I'm really lucky, it's both! Yippee!

I really believe that none of this would be a problem if only I still had my spleen.

Oh, and you think I'm joking? I'm not. I'm spleenless. Spleen-free. I-have-no-spleen. The doctors took it when I was in high school and I had cancer, and they didn't really need to, but they did anyway. They said I didn't need it, but they were wrong.

Ever wonder what your spleen is for? Dr. Squarepants is here to give you the lowdown!

(ahem.)

Your spleen does most of its work in infancy. It acts in partnership, so to speak, with your immune system. Your spleen protects your infant self from colds and flu and stuff until your immune system is developed enough to take over most of the work. BUT, even as you grow and your immune system becomes strong enough to take care of business, your spleen is still your back-up protection against sickness.

(ahem.)

I haven't got a spleen, and therefore if I don't take good care of myself (lots of sleep, healthy eating, etc.), I get colds all the time.

And you thought all your spleen was good for was its funny-sounding name! Wrong-o! I think it's time you thanked your spleen for all of its hard work!

I sure miss mine. Anyone have one I can borrow? I'll give it right back, I promise.

square - hip