Nov.25.01

Helllo, Diaryland! Man, it seems like it's been forever, but I'm back!

Here I sit, surrounded by boxes, three weeks before moving day. Yes, we here in the Squarepants household are a twee bit too organized when it comes to the moving. The boxes are even labeled and numbered, with an accompanying list in a Word document on the computer. Yes, I'm the one with the obsessive-compulsive leanings, not C. What can I say? It makes me feel good to be in control!

Oh, yeah, I know I'm a freak.

So...Thanksgiving...Well, it went like this: Drive to Indiana, sit around and talk to any of C.'s, like, 47 siblings/nieces/nephews. Eat the very, very standard Thanksgiving Holiday Meal plus two slices of pie (there is no such thing as "no thanks" in Mama C.'s vocabulary). Sit around some more. Play some kind of board or card game. Sleep. Wake. Eat more. Long goodbye. Drive home.

It's pretty funny when you think about it, how this is almost exactly identical to every other American's experience.

And here's something I don't think I've mentioned yet: C. and I "pulled the goalie." That's right--we're officially tryin' to make a baby. The original plan was to wait for Christmas, but I just didn't want to wait anymore. I mean, Christmas was kind of an arbitrary date anyway, so what the heck, right? C. was cool with that, considering that there were immediate payoffs to tossing the goalie (othewise known as the condom), and eventual payoffs in the offspring category. So, yeah. We'll see what happens. I guess I'm nervous, but tons of people have done it, so I guess the best way to start is to jump right in with both feet and see if we can swim.

In other news, I love PBS. I have been watching some amazing stuff lately. The best three so far have been the NOVA show about procreation (complete with footage of an actual birth and they showed everything!), a documentary about Alaska's Glacier Bay (I learned that bald eagles are not really noble, but are thieving scavengers!), and a doc. about the life of Abraham Lincoln and his wife Mary Todd (Poor, poor Mary Todd). Jeez, what a geek I am. Oh well, if I can't find my way into a classroom, at least I'm watching more intelligent stuff than I usually do on the tay-vay.

Ooh boy! Christmas is right around the corner! Can't frickin' wait.

square - hip