Dec.22.01

I'm still here!

The past few days have been full...mostly of unpacking and arranging. We're getting there! The house looks like ours now, and that is a big comfort.

The move went ridiculously well. The movers were great and quick and didn't break anything.

We even got the deposit back from our apartment! Wonder of wonders! There really is a Santa Claus, folks!

How lucky can we be? It's scary.

So far, the only somewhat bad thing that's happened was when the cat decided to disappear somewhere in the basement during our first day/night at the house. We went to bed that night, sure that somehow she'd gotten out. C. took it very hard, which is unlike him. I think the stress of moving just made him more emotional. He even got up during the night to look for her some more. He tells me he didn't sleep at all. I slept, but all of my dreams were different versions of the same story: "Oh, here she is! Where have you been, sweetie? I knew she'd turn up!" And of course, true to my dreamings, when the morning feeding came she appeared from her hiding place, hungry and craving love. Silly thing!

I'm looking forward to Christmas with the love of my life in our new place. I really like our house. It feels good. I don't know how I could be any happier.

Am I boring you all with my happy talk? Hah!

Here's to peaceful holidays and new years full of the best things.

Love,

squarepants

square - hip