Jan.06.02

A weekend of fine adjustments: Putting up smoke detectors, organizing the tool room, cleaning the basement, cleaning the fireplace, fixing up the sun porch, finding and putting in the storm windows. Ah, home ownership! It'll surely keep you busy.

For awhile yesterday we ran our friends A. and L. around to do errands, since they don't have a car and L. is one week away from her due date. It was pleasant enough spending time with them. L. was in a pretty good mood and A. was his usual reticent self. L. was so funny--she kept saying she's convinced that the baby is not going to come out. Heh. What a kook. I'm really excited for them. Any day now there will be a new bean in our lives! Yay!

We watched "Requiem For A Dream" last night. The only way C. could convince me to rent it was by also renting something funny. I had heard that it was just a horribly depressing film, so I was reluctant.

I enjoyed the fancy photography and stuff, but I couldn't care about the characters all that much, so when they spiraled out of control it wasn't so much sad in a personal way as it was like watching a car wreck. I will say that Ellen Burstyn was amazing, though. Her character was the best part of the movie.

I can't believe how fast the weekend went by. Tonight it's dinner at Tiffin (Indian food! Mmm!) with A.S. and A.M. and then it's Monday all over again.

square - hip