Jan.13.02

At 7:30 this morning, while C. and I were asleep, the phone rang. It was L., calling to tell us that they wouldn't be able to make it to breakfast this morning because she's in labor and her water just broke!!! L. and A. are at the hospital right now, and L. is giving birth to a little baby boy.

My emotions are so mixed, I don't feel like I can get anything done. I'm so, so happy for them! I'm really excited and a little scared for L. This is her first time and I know she will be fine, but I also know that she is scared. Understandable, I would be petrified if it were me.

...Which brings us to the part I'm not too proud of. I'm also a little...melancholy? Depressed? Envious? I feel like a total jerk, but there is a tiny bit of wishing that it was me. I really, really want it to be me someday. Soon, I hope. Thinking fertile thoughts. Thinking fertile thoughts.

Welcome to the world, little one. I'm happy you'll be here soon.

Love,

squarepants

square - hip