Jan.28.02

The cat is sitting on my legs in a manner that says to me, "No, I don't care one whit that you're uncomfortable, I'm feeling quite fine right here, thank you."

Which says to me that I spoil my everlovin' cat.

Last night I happened upon a show on PBS about the Miss America Pageant. It covered the history of the pageant over the years, including the era of the women's lib movement, Vanessa Williams, Burt Parks and all that. Margaret Cho was on there! Gloria Steinem! Etc.!

Watching that show made me feel so damned good to be a woman. I used to want to be a boy so much when I was a kid. Now I realize that being a woman who knows she can kick ass with the best of 'em is better than that. Men are great, don't get me wrong. But I'm so happy to be a woman.

Lady. Girl. All of the above.

This weekend was good. I spent the days doing not much. Saturday night was S.'s birthday party. I love that guy. He got ordained by the Universal Life Church (via the web--anyone can do it!) just so he could be the minister at our wedding. He has done one other wedding since then. I'm so proud to say we were his first. I suppose you could say we broke his minister-cherry. Oh, is that gross?

So anyway, the party was interesting. There were tons of people there that we didn't know, and I was feeling kind of shy, so I stayed with friends I knew. I didn't drink this time (still don't know if I'm pg or not!), but C. and pretty much everyone else did drink. A lot. C. doesn't even remember the last half hour of the party. Pretty funny. He was staggering drunk--a rare thing. C. is pretty cute when he gets drunk...I didn't take advantage of him, though it was tempting, heh.

The weather on Sunday was unbelievably wonderful. It was in the mid-60's and super-sunny. We took a long walk to Portage Park and wandered around. They have two pools there, one indoor and one out. Cool. After the park we stopped at Dairy Queen and got dipped cones. A perfect January day.

square - hip