March.05.02

I've done more today than I've done in the past three days. Yay! I've been so productive! I really needed an active day! It feels so good after spending the past few days staring at either the computer or the TV, nothing in my brain.

But I did one naughty thing today that I maybe shouldn't have done:

I shoveled snow!

I'm fully aware of how crazy this sounds, but I like to shovel snow. When it snowed a few days ago, C. insisted that I should not do something so strenuous as shovel snow, so out he went. He shoveled the front walk, and he did an okay job. But being the picky, picky girl that I am, I could already see that he wasn't going to do the same job I would do. I could see the spots that would ice over later, and he didn't even touch the back path--he just trudged through it. It really bugged me! I even hinted around about it, saying things like, "If I could shovel, I would have done the back," but that didn't seem to bother him. It's the story of our relationship. I'm kind of anal-retentive. I admit it! I can't just do something so it's okay, it has to be just right! I will take my tidiness over the top, and C. will always half-ass it. Then he will wonder why I'm annoyed later. I try to cut him slack, but it's hard not to get irritated sometimes.

So I put on my coat and hat, grabbed the shovel, the broom, and a bottle of water, and got to work. Fixed up the front. Went inside and took an hour break. Tackled the back. Dug a path from the house to the garage and from the house to the back gate. Took a break everytime I got too warm or winded. The only things I could not shovel were C.'s now-frozen-solid footprints, but I just did my best. I didn't overdo it. The day was actually pretty--sunny and a little melty.

I'm happy that I did it. And hey! Maybe it'll surprise C. into realizing that he needs to be more thorough! More likely, he will realize that I can shovel snow while pregnant! But let's hope not.

square - hip