March.07.02

This is possibly one of the best days I've ever had, and that's really saying something.

Maybe not the top of the list, but waayyyyyy up there, for sure.

And it's not even over yet!

This morning brought an appointment with the midwife. C. came with me, which always makes me happy. For some reason, I expected him to not want to go, but it's a major comfort to have him there. It says he really cares about me and this kid.

So anyway, the midwife didn't have much to say, just a quick review of some tests, answer some questions, etc. Then she pulled the listen-y thingy out and plunked it on my belly. She immediately found the heartbeat. She told me to take the ear pieces out of her ears and put them into mine. I did, and was greeted by a distant knocking sound, like someone using a hammer and nails a few blocks away. Knocking quickly, steadily. Our baby's heartbeat. My child's heartbeat. I couldn't believe that was it and that it was happening inside me right then. And right now. This was the first time I'd ever heard it. It sounded so tiny and sure.

I gave the earpieces to C. so he could hear. He smiled big as he listened. It was so great.

And... as if that wasn't enough happiness for one day, the mail came just a bit ago, and boy-oh-boy was I surprised to be greeted by a BIG, BEAUTIFUL BOX OF QUAKER CORN BRAN, straight from Canada!!! That's right--my darling Toothbrush sent it to me! Let me just say that she really, really, really rocks. The fact that she went to the trouble to go to the store, buy a box of my very favorite cereal in the whole world, address it to me, take it to the post office, and pay almost ten dollars to have it sent to my ass in the U.S.A. ... Well, that just deserves the biggest props ever. EVER! No doubt about it-- Toothie rocks in the most special-est way possible!

I hope that the U.S. and Canadian Postal Services got a kick out of it. After all, it was literally a box of cereal with a big address label on it and a customs form proclaiming that the contents of the box was "Cereal." I know I would have gotten a chuckle.

Hell, I am going to be chuckling about this for the rest of the day. For sure.

Like I said, one of the best days ever.

square - hip