March.11.02

So...what happened this past weekend?

Not a hell of a lot, but some.

My weekend started on Friday. In a totally uncharacteristic move, C. took the day off, so we decided to go to a late breakfast at one of our favorite breakfast places (wouldn't you like to know where!), and then we checked out the Chocolate Exhibit at the Field Museum.

A word to all of you in Chicago who are tempted to go to the Chocolate Exhibit at the Field Museum: It's not worth the bucks. Sorry, but it's true. It won't tell you anything you don't already know, and there isn't even any free chocolate! Okay, it's cool for young kids, but if you already have a notion of the history, you're there. No need to spend the $13.

The one truly astonishing thing for us was at the end, where they had some video monitors set up. The monitors displayed various interviews with different people from many countries and cultures, and their perspectives on chocolate. Suddenly, our friend A.M. appeared on the screen, talking about how she's Dutch and what kind of chocolate Dutch kids receive at Christmas. We were flabbergasted! What was she doing on there??? Turns out that A.M. is friends with one of the Field Museum employees. Oohh. Pretty funny.

Saturday night we went over to A.M. and A.'s house for some hangin' out. A bunch of us were there and it was really nice. At one point, A.M. disappeared into a bedroom. She was gone a long time, and we all started to wonder out loud what had happened to her. Eventually, she emerged, puffy-eyed and a little confused. She claimed to have had an OCD attack. I'm not sure what that means exactly (other than she's got Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), but it sounded terrible. Poor lady. She's been through some really rough times. I hope she's okay.

Sunday was spent being productive. C. and I both had plenty to do, the first of which was our taxes. We got Quicken TurboTax, and I highly recommend it if you are past the point of being able to use the good ol' 1040EZ. Oh, man, do I ever miss the 1040EZ. Blissfully simple. I had no idea how good I had it back then, single and low-income. But seriously, TurboTax is really pretty easy.

I always feel really good after the taxes have been done. Relieved. It's like the feeling of ripping off the band aid quickly rather than slowly.

Also, I made a curtain, which is something I've been meaning to do. The window near our front door has been bare since we moved in. From the outside, one can see right into our living room, which is truly disturbing if you intend to take a nap on the couch. So I made the curtain. Just have to put it up now.

Finally, I found C.'s complete collection of "Eightball" comics. We'd been looking everywhere for them, and C. was sure they'd been lost in the move somehow. I refused to believe that--how could they have gotten lost in the move? There was nothing left at the old apartment when we moved out, and the moving van was empty when the movers drove off. They simply had to be somewhere in our house. And I found them. Quite the triumph, I tell you.

Then we watched "The Sopranos" and "Six Feet Under." Good stuff.

...And that's it. I can sure write a lot about nothing much, can't I?

square - hip