March.20.02

At 11 weeks and three days knocked up, I'm getting bigger every day now. It's really weird and cool. The belly is apparently unstoppable.

My whole life, I've been self-conscious about some parts of my body (Hell, who isn't??). For instance, I've always worried, in a kind of subliminal way, about my stomach. Is it hanging over my belt? Does it look flat from the side? For the most part, it's usually pretty flat. Not perfect, but okay.

Now when I check out my stomach, at first I get weirded out about how I look "fat" in the belly, and then I remember, oh yeah, I'm allowed! I'm allowed to get big! I'm supposed to! It's a very freeing thought.

++++++++

I have decided that I really need to get out of the house more. I don't know if that means I should get a job, or just go and do things outside of the house. All I know is that I'm going stir-crazy. I spend toooo much time on the computer. It's pathetic. I'm starting to get the feeling that the weather has a big hand in the way I feel. On cloudy, cold, gloomy days I seem barely able to function. On really sunny days I feel like I can do anything. I've always wondered if I have a little of the seasonal depression...

I'm thinking I might want to start a garden soon. I have the spot planned, but I am a newbie gardener. Planting some sorry-ass tomatoes in big pots (like last year) is pretty different from trusting the dirt in your yard with your little seeds. We'll see what happens.

I don't guess any gardening will be happening tomorrow. We're supposed to get some snow. Welcome to spring in Chicago...

square - hip