March.27.02

I'm only still sitting in this chair in front of the computer because the cat is so comfortable on my lap. I'm hungry. And I even really have to go pee. What a sucker I am.

A package came in the mail today, from my Mom. Inside, I found a homemade baby quilt, a yellow baby sweatshirt with a yellow duck on the front and a zipper up the back (???), a navy blue baby sweatshirt with the zipper up the front, and a stuffed bunny rabbit with its hands folded in prayer. When you squeeze the bunny, it says the "Now I lay me down to sleep" prayer in a cloying kiddie voice.

Yup. My Mom is so excited about her only child having her grand-baby, she is already sending me baby stuff. I'm only three months pregnant! The kid is a little bit bigger than the size of my thumb! It cracks me up.

The baby clothes are really great, and the quilt is nice and all, but...Well, the bunny. I hope to never hear that praying bunny praying again.

I have not yet broken the news to my Mom that most likely we won't be raising the kid Catholic. I'm not looking forward to it.

C. and I have talked about it, but so far we haven't decided how we'll do the whole religion thing. I grew up Catholic, he grew up Baptist. We're both very lapsed now. The question we keep asking ourselves is: Did being raised religious make us better kids (and therefore adults), morally? Would we be taking some vital part of child-rearing out of the mix if we don't take the kid to church? And if we did take the kid to church, which church?

Yeah, so. It's a whole big freakin' can of worms. And it's mine, Mom, so stay out of it!

square - hip