Apr.02.02

I had a few errands to run in the neighborhood today--the library and the post office.

First, I went to the library. All I was doing was returning a book, so I walked right up to the front desk book return, where a librarian was sitting, staring at a computer. In a good mood and being a fan of the library, I said a cheerful, "Hi, how are you?" as I slid my book over the desk to the librarian. She didn't say anything or even take her eyes off of the computer.

Um, okay...

So I brushed off that bit of rudeness, and headed to the post office down the street. The post office is pretty much my least favorite errand--long lines, indifferent service, etc. I prepared myself for dealing with the annoyance, went in and got into the line. After several minutes of waiting, a guy waltzed in past the line to the front, looking like he was going to pull some kind of "I'm special" crap. I shot him a little dirty look. I think some others did too. Then he spoke up and pointed out that most of us were actually in the wrong line and was kind enough to let me and another guy ahead of him in line! I thanked him and smiled.

Once my business was completed, I headed for the door. As I went out, I smiled and held the door open for a lady behind me. She didn't even look at me, and she couldn't be bothered to say thank you. Hmph.

What I wanna know is, why am I nice to the people who turn out to be jerks and I'm a jerk to the ones who turn out to be nice?

square - hip