May.02.02

Ooohhhh. Last night was not very good. I mean, the whole day yesterday was spent feeling a bit crappy, but as the day progressed into night I became a total mess. Head-achey, nose-runny, and worst of all, feverish. I yearned for bedtime at 7:00, but it was still light outside, so I held off 'til 8:00. By that time, I was a wreck--all of the above, plus my arm hurt so badly from my shot that I could not even remove my own shirt. I had to call C. to help me, which was actually pretty funny. Once in bed, I realized that I was way too stuffy to even breathe. Since I can't take cold medicine (darn baby), my options were limited. One of the possible options was Vick's Vapo-rub, and C. offered to run to the store to get me some, that darling. Soon, he was back with the goods. The Vick's coupled with Tylenol (safe for preggo ladies) for the fever helped a little, but nothing would have fixed me up better than a good knock-you-out cold pill.

The night was long, but I survived. This morning I was still a mess, so I camped out on the couch with my Vicks, tissues, and Tylenol. Thankfully, this afternoon I'm feeling better. I don't know how I would have handled another night like last night!

In other news, something really amazing happened today: C. got a huge raise! A raise that might allow me to not have to work! A raise that was completely unexpected, since there was a big layoff at his company just a couple of weeks ago! We can hardly believe our good fortune.

Sadly, excellent news like this makes us both look up with a slight cringe and wonder, "What's going to fall on our heads now?" It's kind of scary how lucky we've been.

I'm thanking the higher powers-that-be for this. Really.

square - hip