May.23.02

I think I've found my birth-angel! I know that's a cheesy thing to call someone, but I just don't know any other way to describe this woman I've had the good fortune to meet.

I haven't met her in person yet, but I talked to her on the phone today. I met her husband at a party. He had his two cute little girls with him, and we got talking about pregnancy and stuff. He said his wife gave birth to both of their daughters at home and they're expecting a third baby soon, another home birth. My first thought: Did someone say home birth? These folks sound like my kind of people! Considering that the only two moms I know here in Chicago had experiences I would rather avoid (one a willing hospital birth with epidural, the other a rather unwilling c-section)...and I plan to give birth at a Birthing Center, I felt like I needed to talk to someone who had done the home birth thing, just to know that it really does happen and that it really works.

He told me a little more about their thoughts on birthing and parenting (very similar to what I'd been thinking), and I was convinced that these folks had a thing or two to teach me. I asked the guy if I could call sometime and talk to his wife about all of this. He gave me their number.

Today I finally talked to J. She was warm, friendly, outgoing, responsive, and she really listened. She gave me tons of information! Stuff about doulas, websites, groups... So much information, all so helpful and needed! She's like...well, really, she's like an angel. In the space of a half-hour conversation, J. filled in so many gaps in my knowlege I can't even believe it! And, even though she is due to give birth any day now, she told me not to hesitate to call back if I had any other questions or needed anything.

*sigh* I feel so damned lucky today. I wish that every pregnant woman with as many questions as I have/had can find someone to help like I did.

Oh, and in other news, I went to my first yoga class on Tuesday. I was nervous about doing yoga with a bunch of other people, but I was the only one who showed up that day. It was just me and the instructor. Kinda neat. The class was pretty good. I definitely felt all of those good yoga feelings when it was over--relaxed, aligned, and stretched out. It felt good to do something that healthy.

square - hip