Jun.19.02

I have decided that I love "Matchgame"-era Richard Dawson, but I decidedly do not like "Family Feud"-era Richard Dawson. The "Matchgame"-era Richard Dawson is so suave and devil-may-care. Ooh-la-la! The "Family Feud"-era Richard has a dirty-old-man tendency for kissing and hugging on ALL of the female contestants. Makes me really uncomfortable. Uck.

Can you tell I've gotten hooked on the Game Show Network? It's all C.'s fault! I didn't even know what "Matchgame" was 'til he made me watch it one night. It's so kitchy! I love it.

I also enjoy "Let's Make a Deal" probably more than I should.

Anyhoo...

Big news everybody! As of last Sunday, I'm six months pregnant! That means, technically, that our little peanut is a viable baby now. Which means that if he were to be born now (don't get any ideas in there, kiddo), he would have a good chance of surviving. And that's a pretty good thing.

Only three months to go now! I know I say this every time, but I can't believe it. It's gone by fast. And three more months is not a long time.

This past Monday we met the woman who will be our doula, or birth companion. A doula, for those of you who are unfamiliar, is a person who assists the mom (and the dad or partner) in late pregnancy, labor, delivery, and a little bit afterwards. She's not a midwife (she can't do any actual medical stuff), but she is there to support the parents in whatever ways she can--she's there to reassure and help.

So we met our doula. I love her! And C. loves her! She's strong, energetic, smart, funny, friendly, sensitive, and open-minded. She's got a TON of birthing experience and she's willing to go the extra mile. She even has a bit of a punk rock past. She used to go to punk shows as a teenager, and get this--My doula was vomited on (upon?) by Joey Ramone! I asked her if she was impressed when he did that. She was very much not impressed, to her credit.

I'm sad to say she don't come cheap, but I'm fairly sure she's worth it.

In other news, three friends of ours are throwing us one big co-ed baby shower. Actually, the invitations say that the shower is, "A baby shower honoring Squarepants." Wow, huh? Honoring me! I guess I should be pleased, considering who knows when something like this will happen again. I do feel a little badly that C. isn't mentioned, since he did have something to do with it...and he will definitely have a LOT to do after the little guy is born. But oh well. I can't complain--hell, I was sure I wouldn't even get a shower. Here's hoping we get lots of (useful, non-gender-specific) loot...oh, and have fun with our friends, of course! Heh.

square - hip