Jul.03.02

Well, here I am, feeling pretty good, gettin' bigger every day...I'm starting to wonder how in the hell this kid is going to find any more room in my abdominal area! And he's got a little less than three months to go! Ugh.

Don't get me wrong, I'm enjoying being pregnant (it's been strangely easy so far), but sometimes I wonder if or when I'll get tired of it. I hear that that happens near the end sometimes.

The other night, I watched some show on MTV about that R&B singer Brandy (Brandi?). Apparently, she had a baby not too long ago, and for some reason she let MTV follow her around with cameras during the last few months. I could not stop watching it! I did feel kind of sorry for her--her husband looks like a huge jerk. The worst was when she was in the house taking some kind of baby class (how to bathe, diaper, and feed the baby, etc.), and her dear darling hubby was outside noodling around the neighborhood on his ATV. I mean, why not, right? Not like he's going to have to know how to bathe or diaper his own child! Terrible.

I'm starting to realize I'm watching just a teeny bit too much TV lately. This is what happens when I don't have a good book to read for pleasure. I don't have a good book to read for pleasure because I'm trying really hard to get through two birthing/parenting books. I am learning a lot, but sometimes it's hard to get excited about reading how painful labor is going to be. I know it's painful! I know it's hard! I don't feel that I have any illusions about it! What exactly can I do about that fact right now, other than be ready for it when it happens?!

It's really, really hot here in Chicago. I've been in the house (for the most part) for many days, avoiding the deadly heat outside. I'm feeling just a bit stir-crazy, so please pardon me if I'm babbling a little.

Tomorrow should be interesting. We've been told that the 4th of July is known as Big Party Day here in our neighborhood. Both neighbors on either side of us are known for their huge to-dos. And yes, this means I should have another installment of the crazy antics of Roseanne and Bill to share with you soon. Bill has been working really hard on the backyard, getting it ready for the hoe-down to come. He's got the karaoke set up in the garage, strings of outdoor lights set up all around, and a huge meat smoker. I hear that the theme is some kind of Margaritaville-meets-Hawaiian Luau kind of thing. I'm sure it'll be something! Hmmm. Now what kind of covered dish will I bring?

square - hip