Aug.19.02

It's the first cool, gray, rainy day I've seen in a long time. I'm actually wearing long sleeves!

I can NOT believe that August has almost completely slipped by me. First my dad and uncle came to visit and fix up that upstairs room in late July. Then they had to leave and the room wasn't quite finished. So it took C. and I two weekends to finish it -- put up the trim, caulk it, sand it, prime the whole room, prime the trim, paint the walls, the ceiling, the trim, clean up and done. During the week, I had to spend a lot of my time resting because the weekends were so strenuous! But the room is finally done. It looks great, and the rest of the house is a mess because we've been ignoring it. Yay! Oh well, I think I'll make this the last big super cleanup before the baby comes.

I'm eight months and a week pregnant and I've been feeling good. A little more tired, a few more aches and pains, but fine. I'm growing out of my clothes -- the few things I have are getting a bit tight, and it kind of freaks me out! I don't really feel any bigger, but there's no denying that some of my maternity pants don't fit anymore. Crazy.

As for the babe, it is obvious that he is growing. Now, when he moves, it sometimes hurts me a bit, or surprises me with the force of his movements. It seems like sometimes he's gotta be cube-shaped or something -- so many sharp angles! *poke-poke* He also enjoys lodging himself under the ribs on my right side, but not my left. Go figure. The midwife says he's head-down right now, let's hope he stays that way 'til birth! Although I wonder how comfortable it could be to hang upside-down for two months... Anyway, the midwife also said that, judging by the size of my belly, he'll probably be around six or seven pounds. Pretty good news, I'd say. I don't wanna give birth to no ten-pounder!

I know that I never got around to talking about my trip to NYC. And I want to! It was great! But it will have to wait for another time.

...

square - hip