Sep.30.02

Yesterday was our 2nd wedding anniversary. We didn't do anything all that complicated or fancy, we just made up our minds to spend the day hanging out together not really doing anything (something we don't do as often as we should). Then we went out to dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant. I shared a glass of red wine with C. It was a rare treat I thoroughly enjoyed. Mmmm, wine. I've missed wine and didn't even know it.

I can't believe we've only been married for two years. Seems like we've been together for so much longer. Okay, we have, if you count the two years of dating, which I do!

Today was another appointment. I finally had an internal exam.

*****Warning! Some technical pregnancy stuff ahead!*****

The verdict? My cervix is still closed, 20% effaced. I was thinking I had to be a little bit dilated, but no. The baby did drop some, though. I thought he had! I felt a really weird feeling in my pelvis on Saturday that made me stop what I was doing and say, "Oh!" So I'm thinking that's what that was about. The doctor says he's at -1 station.

*****Okay, that's it. Onward!*****

Sooo... the news was not mind-blowingly great but not bad either. The doc says that I will probably go up to my due date, and maybe somewhat beyond, so all of you who predicted a delivery date previous to October 6th, the odds are apparently against you. It's hard for me not to feel a little smidgen of disappointment at the thought of another week or two of choppy sleep and mysterious crampy feelings and phantom contractions that make me wonder, "Is this it? Or is that it?" But then again, it's only another week or two. And from what I've heard, labor really is not that predictable, so that doc might be wrong!

Uh, right? Heh. We'll see.

Damn, it's a gorgeous day outside. I hear that today could very possibly be the last warm, summery day we'll get before cold, rainy Fall sets in. Let's hope not, shall we?

square - hip