Oct.09.02

First, lemme just say thank you to everyone who has stopped by and left sweet little supportive messages in my guestbook. It makes me feel so good to know that I'm not the only one wondering when this kid is going to be born!

Okay, it is now three days past my due date, and I swear these have been the longest three days I've ever lived. Each day brings more signs that make me think, "Could this be it? Could this be it?" but so far none of those things has brought me to "The Big Event." I was up at 3AM this morning with contractions and pains and all that, but they subsided by 4AM and I went back to bed. C. keep saying he is sure it's happening very soon. I think he's right, but it can't happen soon enough for me! I know that there are natural methods that could help move things along, but I am trying not to think about them, because I believe that this baby will come out when he's ready. It's a hard exercise in patience.

Tomorrow is C.'s birthday. I keep thinking that the Peanut is going to wait and be born on the same day as his daddy. I think that would be pretty cool...

While I've been waiting, I have been happily distracted by reading a hilarious book called Kick Me: Adventures in Adolescence by Paul Feig, who is the creator of "Freaks and Geeks," only one of my all-time favorite TV shows. If you cracked up while watching "Freaks and Geeks," or the film "Welcome to the Dollhouse," you'll plotz when you read this one. The fact that Paul Feig is writing about his actual life is just amazing--it's almost too hilarious and pathetic to be true! I haven't laughed out loud this much at a book since Me Talk Pretty One Day. And well, the fact that it's a cheap book and an easy read should encourage every one of you to go pick it up. If you still have doubts, go listen to the archived interview with Paul Feig on NPR's "Fresh Air".

Okay, that's it. Next time I write, I'll have a baby cradled in my arms! Um, right...?

square - hip