Jan.10.03

Hooray for 2003! I have a feeling it's going to be great!

Anyone else feel that way?

Little E. is going to be three months old tomorrow. Three months already! My head is just starting to feel like it's on straight.

Our sleep problems are not gone, but they are getting better. The thing that saved me most was learning how to nurse in bed. How nice to know that I don't have to be conscious to feed my son! Ah-hahaha! One does what one must do to stay sane, yes? And we're safe about it. No pillows or blankets near his head. If you're thinking that I might someday roll over my baby, it's not going to happen. I couldn't even if I tried. I used to sleep with my cat next to me in bed, and I never went anywhere near her. Plus, E. would definitely holler if I disturbed his sleep.

It's amazing to see this baby grow. It happens so fast, and sometimes it happens so subtly you could almost miss it. Except you don't. He loves certain songs when we sing them, and there are a few toys he recognizes and smiles at.

Being a stay-at-home mom has been...well...nice but kind of boring. Don't get me wrong--I love my kid more than anything in this world--but the routine of feed, nap, play, (dangle toys in front of baby), feed, nap, play (dangle toys in front of baby) gets tiresome after about six hours. C. is gone at work for about ten hours, so that last four can be hard. By six when C. is due home, I'm practically staring at the door and then the clock. Door, clock, door, clock. If he's even five minutes late, I get antsy. When he walks in the door, I usually hand the baby right over. I feel kind of guilty about all of this, but I know that my boredom will soon enough be replaced with chasing a crawling/toddling/walking baby around the house. The best days are those when E. and I go out on an "adventure," like the grocery store or to visit a friend. He hates the car seat, but once we get going, he falls asleep. It's fun being out in the world. I look forward to it. It's certainly more strenuous than when I was alone (that car seat weighs a TON), but it's not bad.

The most fun I've had since the peanut's been born is hanging out with other moms. I love it. I want to do more of it. It will be easier when the weather is nice. Trips to the park and the zoo and that sort of thing. I soo look forward to it.

Welp, gotta go. Got dinner to make and a husband and babe to hang out with.

square - hip