March.12.03

Heyyy! Again, it's been awhile. I think about writing an entry more times than I can count, and then the babe wakes up from his nap and it's all over.

Yesterday was E.'s five month birthday. He's five months old already. But wait--isn't he just a newborn? How did he get so old (heh, old) so damned fast?

He's been teething for...oh, ages. Weeks, months, I don't know anymore. Lately, I have been checking his mouth every day. I could swear that I felt a little something the other day, but I can't see anything. Hrm. Guess it was just wishful thinking. Don't ask me why I'm so anxious to see him get teeth, considering I'm a breastfeeding mom, but I am. I just revel in his growth. I love it and yet I want it to stop, y'know?

He is developing so many skills. He makes a lot of different noises now, including an ear-splitting happy squeal. He can almost sit unassisted (!!) and he's getting better about being on his tummy. The other day I put him on his tummy and he actually rolled over onto his back. I was terribly impressed, calling C. immediately. Heh. Of course, it looks to have been a fluke, but I'll take it anyway. My kid is a fuckin' superstar! I love him so much and I'm so proud of him.

And the best news? He's finally starting to really sleep. In his crib, even. I originally wanted him to sleep with us in our bed, but he just doesn't sleep well next to me (and neither do I, for that matter). I think it's the fact that he knows the boob is right there, anytime he wants it. I mean, if you slept next to the fridge, wouldn't you be temped to grab a snack once in awhile? Well, I would. So he's in the crib for as much as eight hours a night now! C. and I feel like we're in heaven. I have never appreciated sleep like I do now. Ahhhh.

Yup, things are starting to really look up. Even the weather looks to be getting better. They're predicting mid-sixties this week. Halle-frickin'-leujah!! I've been fantasizing about wearing shorts and t-shirts and walking around in bare feet for a couple of months now. I can hardly wait for the days when I can plunk E. in the stroller and just go for a walk or put him in the car seat and go for a drive. No more coats, no more boots, no more extra layers, no more warming up the car. I cannot wait.

I'll tell you what: IF I have another baby, I will do my level best to NOT have that baby in the winter. I came this close to losing it so many times.

I edited this because I feel kind of like a jerk being so darn chipper when we are on the verge of war. I think about this coming war a lot. I listen to NPR and BBC and keep an eye on CNN, but I don't like to talk about it much. It just gets me so angry. I hate that stupid man we call a president, and I hate this war. Thank you.

square - hip