Jun.03.03

Jeez. Everything's moving so fast these days. I can't seem to keep up. I complain about not being able to get anything done, but when I have free time, I can't think of what I need to do. There are about a billion half-done projects around this house, a billion good intentions lying about like sullen cats who don't get enough love. Hell, my fucking CAT is one of those sullen cats! She definitely doesn't get the kind of love she used to get from me.

I walk around mostly in my head these days, like Charlie Kaufman in that movie "Adaptation." I loved that movie, by the way. Why didn't anyone tell me it was so good?!

Anyway. At night, before I fall asleep, I think about how I am so lucky and blessed. I thank the stars for each good thing, especially my beautiful boy. He's the greatest thing. I love him in a way I never thought I could love anyone.

And then, inevitably, my thoughts turn to death; death of those I love, my own death. Now that I have a lot to lose, I can't stop myself from thinking about the possibility of loss. Death is certain for every living thing, but I can't seem to wrap my head around it. And let me tell you a secret I have told no one else: Deep down inside, in my secret heart, I am afraid of death. I don't want to die and I don't want anyone I love to die. I can't imagine a world without those I love, and honestly, as conceited as this sounds, I can't imagine a world without me. Does that sound bad?

I am working to change my feelings about death. I want to be okay with it. Being afraid of death seems so cowardly somehow. I want to be noble and strong and face the unknown with my shoulders back and my head up. How does one go about doing that?

Really, I swear I'm not in a morbid mood, but you'd never know it by this entry.

square - hip