Jun.06.03

I have four close friends who are pregnant right now. I know that two of them are having girls, so I wonder what the sexes of the other two will be. I hope that the other two are boys--I don't want E. to be the only one!

Even though this is so silly, I'm kind of bummed out that I didn't get to be in the "club" with these friends. I was the lone preggo in my group at the time, and only one of our friends had had a kid before me.

Oh well, I guess that makes me a seasoned professional, compared to my soon-to-be mommy friends.

Yeah, I know--these musings are boring. I think it's the weather that's making me feel so dull. It's too damned cold for June! Too much rain!

I'll share some really cool kiddo news, how's that?

E. really threw me for a loop today. Lemme back up for a second: Just for the hell of it, lately when anyone drops something, I say, "Uh-oh," in hopes that E. will learn and try to repeat it. Well, this morning he dropped a toy and I said, "Uh-oh," and as I bent to get it I heard an echo, "Uh-oh!"

At first I thought I must have been hallucinating, but no, he said it. He really said it! As clear as day, he said, "Uh-oh!"

Look, I don't know if it was an accident, coincidence, or what. But I do know that he said it. Of course, I couldn't get him to say it again no matter what I tried... Maybe it was a fluke. But maybe not! Hahahahah!

One thing I am sure of is this kid is going to be crawling soon. He has started "commando" crawling all over the place. Put a toy just out of reach and away he goes. It's so exciting and yet I'm unprepared. I think I've been in denial regarding how much babyproofing will need to be done. Everywhere I look I see unprotected stairs, electrical cords, dust bunnies, sharp corners. Crap, we are in trouble! But it's just as cute as hell to watch him squirm all around. I can tell that he's excited too.

I'd like to write more, but the master calls.

square - hip