Jun.16.03

We had a very nice Fathers' Day. C. thanked me several times, so he must have enjoyed it.

I gave C. his gifts first thing in the morning, because I couldn't wait any longer. I got him this t-shirt and this t-shirt. This coffee mug was from E. He was so surprised and excited. It's hard to shop for him, so I was super-pleased that he liked his gifts.

I had originally promised C. that his real Fathers' Day gift would be a whole uninterrupted day to play in his upstairs music studio, but he didn't feel inspired. So we decided it was a great day to go for a walk to our local hot dog stand. It was a real treat to see C. hiking around with E. in his baby backpack. C. was as content as could be. What a great day.

We spent the day before at the park with a bunch of other moms and dads in our Chicago "hip-family" group. It was nice to see everyone. The highlight of the day was playing with E. in the sand pit. First he was fascinated with the feel of the sand under his feet, then he dug his hands in, and before I knew it, he was eating sand by the handful. I could hardly stifle my laughter as I tried to wipe wet sand off of his hands and face. He was really enjoying that sand. One of our friends remarked, "Don't worry, it's safe. Our daughter ate a bunch of sand when she was E.'s age and all she did was poop it out." Haha! So far I have not seen any sand in his diaper so maybe he didn't eat as much as I thought. Hee!

++++++

Does anyone else watch the Trio Network? I love that channel. They have fantastic programming. Last night they played a documentary (or was it a biography?) about the life of Bill Hicks. Made me sad all over again that he's dead. I wish like crazy that he was still around. Now that Bush Jr. is in office, Bill must be spinning in his grave.

square - hip