Jun.27.03

Alright, I should clarify my stance on Harry Potter, for the record. My beef with Mr. Potter is not so much that the books are geared towards kids, but more that the hype is positively overwhelming. I can't really do anything without running into Harry Potter mania of some sort. Granted, I would much, much, much rather that the hype be about a book instead of a video game or movie or TV show, but still--I react very badly to hype. I feel like Harry Potter is being shoved down my throat, and frankly, I don't like it.

That said, once this mania dies wayyy down and no one cares about ol' HP anymore, you can bet that I'll try (again) to pick up one of the books and see what the fuss was all about. I'm contrary that way.

Hey, at least there will be plenty of copies at the used book store.

On another, less-curmudgeonly note, I'm so happy that it's Friday. The weather looks good for the weekend, we don't have a ton of stuff planned... How nice. I guess I should enjoy it, because the next five or six weekends are packed solid.

Oh, and a friend just uploaded to our computer an audio copy of Michael Moore's book, Stupid White Men. Whoo-hoo! I know what I'm going to be doing for the near future!

Have a nice weekend, everyone.

square - hip