Sep.29.03

Today is our anniversary! Three years of blissful marriage! Ah!

Because Monday isn't as good as Sunday for celebratin', we had our little party last night. While E. slept like a little angel in his room, C. and I enjoyed Chinese takeout by candlelight in the dining room. I was so happy C. remembered to order the Crab Rangoon (I loooove Crab Rangoon) and he even gave me one of his. And as if an extra Crab Rangoon wasn't gift enough, he gave me some other amazing things: First, a handmade (okay, computer-made, but NOT cheesy-looking) card with some really beautiful words on it, including the lyrics to a song called, "You You You You You" by The Sixths. Second, the most unbelievably gorgeous Paul Frank watch with Julius the monkey on the face and a wide, red leather band. I mean, it is fucking gorgeous. I didn't even know that I wanted it until I opened the box and there it was. Mine! All mine! Lastly, he handed me a tiny envelope and said, with a sheepish smile on his face, "This is a gift for both of us, actually." What's really funny is that he gave me this long spiel about how he'd been to H&M (An H&M opened in Chicago!!!! Can you believe it?!!!) and how he'd been there but didn't want to tell me because he thought I'd be mad that he didn't go with me, and how he'd thought about getting me an H&M gift certificate, and then he decided against it...etc., etc.,...I guess he was telling me all of this to throw me off the track, because when I was finally urged to open the tiny envelope, what fell out into my hand was a little picture of TiVo:

...And the message written on the back read, "The installer arrives on Wednesday! Love, C."

Heehee!! We are getting TiVo! C. said that his male coworkers all teased him that he was really getting TiVo for himself, but seriously, it's not true. I am so sick of missing shows that I thought I taped (like ER last Thursday! GRRR!), or the tape running out before the movie is over, or missing a show all together, that I couldn't be happier that we're getting TiVo. It's awesome. I can't wait.

And what, you might ask, did I get C.? I got him the 3rd season of "The Simpsons" on DVD. And a very nice card with some lovely words inside. Oh boy did I feel lame. And of course, C. being the saint that he is, just fawned over that DVD as if it were King Tut's treasure. Hey, I have an excuse. C.'s birthday is in about two weeks and I have to spread my gift giving ideas around, okay? It's the same for him when my birthday rolls around, being after Christmas and all...

So. Yeah. I'm going to have to come up with something spectacular for his birthday.

I have a few ideas. Some of them are even good ones.

Gotta go. Kiddo's waking up.

square - hip