Jan.31.04

Really, really happy things:

-I found out recently that my internal C-section incision is transverse (my external cut is vertical), therefore making my chances at a VBAC (vaginal birth after Cesarean) very good. It's like starting out fresh. What a HUGE relief.

-Snarkymarky had a beautiful baby girl named Hazel! She is truly a wonder to behold!

-I have mostly taught myself to knit and completed my first swatch last night (go me!!).

-Our Tivo automatically recorded "Roger and Me," a movie I've been meaning to watch for ages.

-The creators of one of my all-time favorite TV shows, "Freaks and Geeks," have come out with a DVD of the entire show. This is one long-dreamed-of thing that is finally happening!!! Yes!! I sold a rock poster I didn't want anymore for $100 on eBay recently, and that money went to the DVD. An excellent trade, I think.

-I'm working on my art space/office upstairs, finally. It's a miracle of organization that I've been wanting to do for as long as I can remember--to make a space just for my art, with little drawers for all the tiny artsy things I've accumulated, instead of scattered random shoeboxes and such. I need to add that this is the perfect cabin fever project. It's helping to take the edge off.

Which brings me too...

Really, really crappy things:

-Number one, of course, is this weather. Ugh, ugh, ugh! Single digits, sub-zero wind chills! For over a week! On Thursday I got so crazy from being constantly housebound with an active, overly-curious toddler that I called C. and started crying. I just wanted to go outside! Have I ever mentioned I hate winter in Chicago? I really do.

-The cabin fever is making me depressed, therefore I get less done. I'm surrounded by things I need to do, and can't seem to get it together to do them.

-I have no less than five books that I can't seem to finish. This bugs me. I hate not finishing a book.

Eh, that's really it for the bad things. I'm glad that the good list outweighs the bad. Now all I need is some temps in the 60's and I'll be the happiest girl alive.

square - hip