March.30.04

I don't know if I talked about this much (no time to look back and see), but E. had been going through a few months of very frustrating behaviours that just about drove me insane. But after months and months of hard work and frustration, I am finally starting to see the light at the end of the toddler tunnel. It's happening slowly, and there are still plenty of difficult and...um...challenging times ahead with our little genius, I'm sure, but things are starting to get better. He's really starting to communicate. It's funny how I got used to the nonsense baby babble of my child, and how once those babbles started to mean something, I have to remind myself to really listen. He's noticing things and pointing them out to me. Boy's really observant. I can't count the number of times he's muttered "Apple," or "Star," and I'm like, "Star? There's no star. Where do you see...Oh! You're right! There's a star!"

The other day, E. said something to me in sign language for the first time. He looked at me and signed "Eat," and when I signed "Hungry?" He signed it right back. And then I fed him and we were both happy for understanding each other. It was really great.

The other thing that is making things easier is E.'s willingness to just lie or sit down and be still once in awhile. He hasn't done much of that since the pre-crawling days, and back then it wasn't by choice.

At any rate, it's nice to see the changes.

I'm looking forward to Summer with my boy.

square - hip