Jun.29.04

I can easily tell you what the best thing in life is: It's when your "don't touch, don't mess, don't kiss and hug me" toddler decides suddenly that giving Mommy a good-morning kiss or two is a pretty neat idea. Today was a two-kiss day. I've had some three- and four-kiss days too.

These, my friends, are the days I'll miss. I'll miss 'em hard.

It's unbelievable how cliche the feelings of parenthood are. Parenting is hard. Parenting is bittersweet. They grow up so fast. Shoes are expensive. You hear these things from every person who is or was a parent, and they sound tired...until you're a parent yourself. Then it's like you invented these feelings! No one could ever have felt the way I do! All of these feelings I am having are unique to my parenting experience!

Yeah, yeah, and my child is the most special-est, cutest, and smartest child ever. But y'know, if you ask me, he is. He really is.

See?

In about two weeks, I'm going to a little gathering of online mama friends up in the NW. I'll be gone for about four days. When I booked the trip back in March, I could think of nothing but how lovely it would be to have four blissful, child- and husband-free days. Now, when I think about the trip, I get this heavy feeling in my chest. I am going to miss my guys. I'm going to miss them a lot. I didn't think it would be hard to go, but now...I'm looking forward to the trip, but it's tinged with some sadness.

Ah, dammit. Can't a mama just have some fun??

square - hip